Moving to Portland Muffins


pineapple muffins

I just moved to Portland (Oregon, not Maine). I can’t say this phrase enough because eventually it is going to be old news and people will begin to roll their eyes at me. For now, I am thoroughly enjoying myself. Actually, I have found I am in good company. People in Portland really love to celebrate summer. This past week I walked along Mississippi Avenue eating fresh kettle corn in the midst of a huge street fair. Of course, such things are best chased by lemonade in a compostable cup. I got to do quite a lot of people watching during this time, and I am intrigued by some of the hair colors and T-shirt slogans I found. For those of you who don’t know, Portland is a place chalk full of vegetarians, hipsters, bicyclists, and environmentalists. And then there’s me. I like vegetables, but I’m not fully vegetarian. I am a bit hippy-dippy, but not I’m not anti-establishment. I aspire to bicycling, but I don’t have a bike (yet). I like the environment, and I do recycle, but I also really love hot hot showers that last longer than I’m willing to admit here. So, if I had to choose a label, I would pick baker. I bake–a lot. Mostly, I bake muffins (you can reserve your jokes for later, as I assure you I’ve probably heard them all). I welcome you to Little Ms. Muffin’s corner. Now let’s get our move on!

— Little Ms. Muffin

Pineapple Pecan

2 cups flour
1/4 tsp. salt
3/4 tsp. baking soda
1/2 tsp. baking powder
1/2 cup butter (at room temperature)
3/4 cup sugar
1 large egg
3/4 cup whole-milk vanilla yogurt (I recommend Stonyfield Farms)
1 tsp. orange juice
1 tsp. orange zest
8 oz. diced or crushed pineapple
1/2 cup pecans

1) Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
2) In a large mixing bowl, whisk together the flour, salt, baking soda, and baking powder
3) In a small mixing bowl, cream the sugar and butter together. Then add the egg, juice, zest, and yogurt.
4) Combine the ingredients from above in the large mixing bowl. Carefully stir in the pecans and the pineapple.
5) Grease a muffin pan, or line with cupcake wrappers. Fill the cups halfway with batter. Bake for 20 minutes and serve warm. You may want to top these with a cheery cherry on top.

*Yields 1.5 batches

2 Responses to “Moving to Portland Muffins”

  1. Heather Says:

    Love the blog!!!

  2. Lynn Says:

    I can’t wait to make some muffins and the honey loaf. This is a great site and way to keep in touch – you in person would be better. Have a great year !

Leave a Reply

