Comfort Muffins


comfort muffins
I’ve had some friends going through some tough stuff lately, and I worry about them. If I could give them the world I most certainly would, and I’m sure that they know that it’s absolutely true. I miss them terribly, but on top of it all, I’ve been struggling with class-A period woes. I’m of the opinion that menstruation and PMS aren’t things that girls should be taught to be ashamed or embarrassed to discuss. It’s a part of many women’s experiences, and it can bite major big time. Sometimes it helps just to say, “I feel bloated, crampy, slightly sick, and I want a nap and some muffins.” No guilt or shame involved—just the truth. So for my friends whose lives feel a little broken right now, and for myself (just because I can), I have made the best-ever comfort food. When you need a pick-me-up, or know someone who does, try these. Trust me, it’ll take the edge off.

— Little Ms. Muffin

Chocolate Chip Banana Nut

3 very ripe medium-sized bananas (about 1 ¾ cups)
1 ½ cups flour
½ cup brown sugar
1 large egg
4 tbsp melted butter
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp cinnamon
½ tsp vanilla
½ cup walnut chunks
½ cup chocolate chips
1) Grease and flour a muffin tin. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.
2) Peel and thoroughly mash (I mean really obliterate) the banana. Add all the ingredients except the walnuts and chips and mix well.
3) Add the walnuts and chips and stir in a few quick decisive stirs. Fill the muffin tins only alittle more than halfway.
4) Bake for 17 to 20 minutes and remove muffins right away so as to not overcook.

Leave a Reply

