So Long Summer Muffins


Jam Muffins

The sun is setting on my beautiful Portland summer.  I’ve been dazzled by Kruger’s farm, wowed by the Brew Festival, tickled by the Mt. Tabor Soapbox Derby, delighted by the test rose gardens , and overwhelmed by Powell’s bookstore.  I mean, I’ve been privileged enough to see a soapbox car shaped like a giant slice of lasagna!  Summers really can’t get more colorful than that.  I realized that I was no longer a Portland novice when I met folks who had moved here more recently than I had.  I had the pleasure of confidently recommending the best sites to see.  Now (I am a little sorry to say) my summer play time is over, and I can look forward to some good quality fall fun (tempered, of course, by the rigors of law school). I recommend eating these guys with the Beach Boys playing in the background.

–Little Ms. Muffin

Jam Muffins

1 tsp vanilla
1 tsp cinnamon
1 3/4 cups flour
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 tbsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
2 eggs
2/3 cup milk
1/3 cup melted butter
apricot jam
cherries (halved and pitted), optional

1) Preheat the oven to 400 degrees
2) Combine the dry ingredients in a bowl. In a separate bowl, mix together the vanilla, milk, and butter. Add the wet mixture to the dry mixture and beat in the eggs, one at a time.
3) Put paper cups in a muffin tin, or grease and flour the tin. Fill each hole halfway. Put one teaspoon of jam or preserves in the center of each. Then, add one to two teaspoons of batter on top of the jam (covering the jam).
4) If desired, place a cherry half on each muffin before baking.
5) Bake for 18-20 minutes. Remove the muffins from the tin immediately and cool on a rack before serving.

Leave a Reply

