Veggie Ragout


veggie ragout

Of all the wonderful things in the kitchen that find their way into my day dreams from time to time – butter and cream, chocolate and hazelnuts, egg yolks, sushi (ok, time to stop myself before the whole entry becomes a list of deliciousness…)  sometimes the best ingredients one could hope for are simple, fresh produce.

This past weekend I was up in Portland, OR (where I had the *most* amazing lunch ever!  but more about that later…) attending an awesome patient safety conference and visiting Little Ms. Muffin and had the pleasure of rummaging through her organic veggie delivery for the week.  Chinese eggplant popped up, and immediately I knew what I had to make :)  A little more rummaging and lots of chopping later and I had myself a side dish fit for kings :)

This dish is sooooo good – hot as a side dish, or cold slapped on a sandwich with some humus, you can’t go wrong.  Screw V8, **bonks forehead** could have had some veggie ragout :P

Veggie Ragout

5 Chinese eggplants

1 head broccoli

1 large red bell pepper

1/4 red onion (you can use more, that’s just all I had on hand

5 cloves garlic, minced

2 Tbsp. olive oil

1 tsp. dried tarragon

1 sprig fresh oregano

1 handful fresh basil

1 cup chicken broth

1) chop all ingredients

2) combing and cook over medium heat until perfectly tender :)

Now, above I’ve listed the amounts of each veggie I used, but mostly, this was just what I had on hand – I probably would have used a whole onion if I had it on hand (but that might just be my laziness and unwillingness to find a ziplock to throw the leftovers in).  Feel free to add more, less, omit something if you don’t like it, or add anything in your fridge that’s hit the “you or the trash” point.  After all, cooking is an art – be an artist!

Leave a Reply

