Can I get a “What what?” Muffins


I have hit that critical point in law school when students begin asking themselves, “Why the hell did I sign up for this?”  Let’s be clear: it is a self-chosen path.  However, there are high stakes (read: a single end-of-semester exam in each class, graded on a 3.0 curve).  At the half-way mark, people begin to get a little stressed out.  By this, I mean that breakdowns become more regular, and some of us cry in the shower.  Others dance themselves into oblivion at Student Bar Association Halloween Parties, which is great entertainment for the criers.  In either case, there is no more denial.  We can only hope that we are learning what we are supposed to have learned.   In the meanwhile, I try to get my jollies wherever I can.  This week, I attended a public interest karaoke fundraiser.  I had the delight of watching my Torts professor (attempt to) rap Jay-Z’s “Can I Get A…”  This would have sufficed as glorious entertainment all on its own. However, being me, and being a little punchy from a long week, I felt compelled to open Thursday’s class with, “Can I get a what what?”  The professor didn’t hear my remark, and he earnestly replied, “Can I what?”  To this, I was forced to respond, matter-of-factly, “Get a what what.”  Yes, it has really come to this.  It was one of those moments in which words have run amok without my mouth’s permission.  So, for now, I’m going to stick a muffin in it.  Enjoy.

–Little Ms. Muffin

Two-Tone Muffins

1 cup milk
1/2 cup freshly squeezed orange juice
1/2 cup sour cream
2 eggs
2 sticks unsalted butter
3 1/2 cups flour
1 cup sugar
1 1/2 tbsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
zest of one orange
1/4 cup cocoa powder
1/2 cup slivered almonds

1) Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and grease two muffin tins.
2) In a medium mixing bowl, combine the milk, orange juice, sour cream, eggs, and butter.
3) In a large bowl, combine the flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt.  Mix it well.  Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and mix with a hand-mixer on low until there are no lumps.
4) Fold in the orange zest.
5) Separate half of the batter and add the cocoa powder.  Plop one tablespoon of the white batter into one side of each muffin cups.  Then, plop one tablespoon of the cocoa-ed batter into the other half of each muffin cup.
6) Sprinkle the slivered almonds over each muffin and bake for 18-20 minutes.  Allow muffins to cool before removing.

2 Responses to “Can I get a “What what?” Muffins”

  1. Emily Says:

    Oh darling, how I love you. This story brought back memories of you singing the “Good Morning” song as everyone came to Intro. to British Lit. fall term freshman year. I’m guessing you were a dancer rather than a crier? Hang in there, kiddo! Also, these look delicious!

  2. Mommy Says:

    Really cool looking (and probably tasting too)! Just FYI…marble cake is Tony’s favorite…maybe something to try?

Leave a Reply

