Duck Face Cake


I wasn’t sure what I should write about this week.  When I asked Josie if she had any ideas, she replied, “Your face.”  I am not sure I have anything profound to say about my face.  I have, however, spent a good part of the week perfecting my “duck face.”  If you aren’t familiar with the pop-culture “duck face,” I recommend starting with antiduckface.com.  It seems that most folks, primarily women, are making a duckface because they think it’s hot.  Here’s why I am making a duck face: my living room looks like something exploded, my desk is covered with unopened mail, my binders are beginning to get out of control, and my cats got spayed and neutered on Friday.   As a result, the kittens are doped up and acting like serious crack-addicts jonesing for their next good fix; I started adding a splash of Kaluha to my coffee and putting some correspondence on hold.   I also added highlights from a box to my hair, in favor of a fresh change.  I do all of this while making one big fat duck face in the general direction of my law school.  It’s all I can do to keep from quacking.

–Little Ms. Muffin

Carrot Cake

2 cups flour
2 tsp baking soda
1 tbsp cinnamon
1 tbsp allspice
¼ tsp nutmeg
4 eggs
2 cups sugar
1 ½ cups vegetable oil
3 cups carrots (approximately 1 pound, plus a few)
¼ cup shredded coconut

Frosting

12 oz cream cheese
8 tbsp unsalted butter
1 cup confectioners’ sugar
2 ½ tbsp frozen orange juice concentrate

1.  Grate the carrots and set them aside.

2.  Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and grease two round 9-inch pans.  Line the pans with parchment paper and grease and flour the paper.

3.  Whisk together the flour, baking soda, cinnamon, allspice, and nutmeg.

4.  In a separate bowl, use a handmixer to combine the eggs and the sugar for a minute or two on medium, or by hand until fluffy.  Then mix in the vanilla and the vegetable oil.

5.  Add the flour mixture to the egg mixture.  Fold in the carrots and the coconut.

6.  Divide the batter between the two pans and bake for 45 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

7.  While the cakes are cooling, beat the cream cheese, sugar, butter, and two tablespoons of the orange juice concentrate just until fluffy and smooth.   Add the remaining orange juice concentrate, and continue beating until the frosting is spreadable.

8.  Frost the cake when it is cooled.

**Recipe adapted from Cooking Jewish: 532 Great Recipes from the Rabinowitz Family

3 Responses to “Duck Face Cake”

  1. Lauren Says:

    I remember when you and Jason decided you wanted to make carrot cake using my Better Homes and Gardens cook book — you know, the time when you came into my room with the book and told me that the page with the recipe was missing. And then I told you that the page wasn’t missing, but that you had read the index incorrectly. Yep. Good times.

  2. Mommy Says:

    Well, seeing the duck face live and in person will be something I can look forward to over Christmas break! Cake will tide me over until then.

  3. Carson Nocek Says:

    Love your site man keep up the good work

Leave a Reply

