Eggs in a bread bowl


I’m not a big fan of sweet breakfasts.  I mean, don’t get me wrong, there are lots of delicious things that, let’s face it, should be categorized as dessert, that getaway as breakfast food.  I’m not against them per se, but to get me going in the morning, I much prefer something hearty.

That being said, most mornings, I barely have time for a shower, let alone to cook up eggs and toast.  That is why I absolutely love these things, easy for every day breakfast (just whip them together and bake the night before, or throw them in the oven before you hop in the shower) or as a simple, yet impressive treat for brunch.  You can find the original, or “the classic” as I like to call it, created here, on the fabulous Noble Pig.

A quick grab and go breakfast, these babies are irresistible.  Making variations on a theme?  I’m so there.

 

The Classic: What’s not to love… a spalsh of half and half, salt, pepper, and shredded parm :)

The Hothead: This one was a bit of a flop – jack daniel’s hot sauce and tillamok cheddar don’t quite make the cut – as delicious as all of these are individually, they were a bit of a flop when put together.

The Ranch: I was a little apprehensive about this one going in – I’m not the world’s biggest ranch dressing fan, but in the end, it came through with flying colors :) Tangy ranch, with the creamy richness of egg… mmmm…. definitely a do-again.

The Italiano: Maybe it’s just the Italian in my blood, but this one was my absolute favorite.  A dollop of left over vodka sauce from dinner the other night, and topped with a generous sprinkling of parm… it was the perfect marriage of eggs in bread bowls and hilary’s heavenly eggs.  I loveloveloveloveloveeeee these!  Make them.  Make them now.

2 Responses to “Eggs in a bread bowl”

  1. Heather Says:

    That looks like Thanksgiving Breakfast to me!!!

  2. Pumpkin French Toast « Just Call Me Betty Says:

    […] to improve on other peoples’ recipes, or make things my own variation on a theme (exhibit A: eggs in bread bowls).  Now, in the last entry I shared with you a good recipe for pumpkin bread, but it yields two […]

Leave a Reply

