Sometimes Cinnamon Rolls


More and more lately, our society seems to have developed a duality in thinking when it comes to moderation in food.  Cookie Monster is now the “veggie monster”, and cookies are a “sometimes food,” but watch out if you try to tell someone not to supersize their meal.  Good luck finding someone neither over eating, nor on a diet.  Our pants sizes are getting bigger, and our life expectancy shorter.  Food is both a stressor and something we use to feed stress.

In a world so crazy about food, I’m often torn as a food blogger.  Do I post the boring, but healthy meals, or the decedant desserts that will make my readers drool?  As someone who struggles with making good food choices myself, how can I in good concsience post temptation for all to share?  Sure I try to strike a balance… finding things like butternut squash soup, and veggie ragout to try to pull people towards the healthier end of the spectrum, but still, this is something I struggle with.

A while ago, an answer to my quandry came from the most unexpected of sources.  None other, than the Queen of Butter – Ms. Paula Deen.  I was flipping through the channels one day, when I came across an interview with her.  The interviewer, eager to make news, asked her exactly the questions I ask myself so often.  Don’t you think, that in promoting recipes so fattening and indulgent in nature that you have contributed to America’s obesity problem?  Hooked, I immediately stopped flipping channels and perked up.  What did the butter goddess have to say for herself?  I was astonished by her insight.  She basically told the reporter – look, if I ate my food every day, I’d be as big as a kitchen table.  There’s nothing wrong with  rich, buttery food, but it’s important to eat is sparingly, amongst a healthy diet.

Well color me surprised – I never thought I’d say it, but perhaps Paula Dean and the “veggie monster” are right, with two sticks of butter, and a cup of sugar – Paula Dean’s cinnamon rolls are most certainly a sometimes food.  Delicious, but a sometimes food.

<3 Betty

Sometimes Cinnamon Rolls

Dough:

  • 1/4-ounce package yeast
  • 1/2 cup warm water
  • 1/2 cup scalded milk
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1/3 cup butter or shortening
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 egg
  • 3 1/2 to 4 cups all-purpose flour

Filling:

  • 1/2 cup melted butter, plus more for pan
  • 3/4 cup sugar, plus more for pan
  • 2 tablespoons ground cinnamon
  • 3/4 cup raisins, walnuts, or pecans, optional

In a small bowl, dissolve yeast in warm water and set aside. In a large bowl mix milk, sugar, melted butter, salt and egg. Add 2 cups of flour and mix until smooth. Add yeast mixture. Mix in remaining flour until dough is easy to handle. Knead dough on lightly floured surface for 5 to 10 minutes. Place in well-greased bowl, cover and let rise until doubled in size, usually 1 to 1 1/2 hours.

When doubled in size, punch down dough. Roll out on a floured surface into a 15 by 9-inch rectangle. Spread melted butter all over dough. Mix sugar and cinnamon and sprinkle over buttered dough. Sprinkle with walnuts, pecans, or raisins if desired. Beginning at the 15-inch side, role up dough and pinch edge together to seal. Cut into 12 to 15 slices.

Coat the bottom of a muffin tin with butter and sprinkle with sugar. Place each cinnamon roll slice in it’s own muffin spot and let rise until dough is doubled, about 45 minutes. Bake for about 30 minutes at 350 F or until nicely browned.

Leave a Reply

