Law School Exam Muffins, or Humbly Grateful Muffins


Law exams are officially underway and I have learned two important life lessons.  I kicked off my crunch time exam period in Roseburg with Josie.  She vowed to take the best care of me while my housemate took care of the pets in Portland.  For those of you who have kept up with the blog, you know that Josie’s care includes really good homemade food and as much TLC as one could want.  Josie stayed up late with me beginning Friday night.  We started with a review of torts.  By the end of the night, she knew enough torts to correctly identify issues in a practice test.  She could recite all the elements of negligence and could distinguish the intentional torts from one another.  She then sat patiently all day Saturday with me so that I could teach contracts.  Throughout the day I got the most plush services— fresh bagels from the local shop, homemade hot chocolate with peppermint fudge, a pedicure, and lunch delivered up to me on toasted Kaiser rolls.  By the end of the night, Josie was able to correctly answer multiple choice questions from a past contracts exam (and she had finished making a Christmas present for her dad).  She effectively learned a semester’s worth of material for two subjects (enough to pass a real exam) in 36 hours.  She’s quite the exceptional student, I assure you.  On Sunday, I was able to leave with the confidence I needed to face these exams.  If I could teach the concepts to a non-law student, certainly I could tackle a silly exam.  It also helped that I had a batch of homemade cookies on the passenger seat.  Thus, I felt like the luckiest and most well-prepared student to ever live as I began the three-hour drive back to Portland.  Life Lesson #1: Remain humble.  Upon reaching my house in Portland, I realized I had missed a call from Josie about an hour and half into the journey home.  As it turns out, I left my binder with all of my carefully written outlines and flow charts in Roseburg. Note: my open-note contracts exam was only 14 hours away.  F*&#.  Who does that?  So, after allowing myself ample time for a small breakdown, I had some dinner (not nearly as good as the food Josie makes).  My partner interrupted his own study time so he could drive me to dinner and to campus while I cried and bemoaned the circumstances. Then Josie successfully scanned each and every page of my contracts materials for me and emailed them to me.  This would have been a perfect solution had the school computer lab not closed at 7:00 and had my printer at home not been out of ink.  Never fear, one of my best study buddies, promised to print my outline for me and bring it to the exam.  Life Lesson #2: Be grateful for modern technology and even more so for the relationships you’ve cultivated.  By 9:00 PM, I was able to redraw my diagrams and charts from the scanned copies provided to me, and the world was right again.  For the multitude of well-wishes in the form of emails, text messages, phone calls, Facebook notes, and silent thoughts, I am humbly grateful.  These muffins are for the world’s best cheerleaders.

–Little Ms. Muffin

 

Pumpkin Cheesecake Muffins

 

For the crust

1 small bag of ginger snaps (about 1 ½ cups)
¼ cup sugar
4 tbsp butter, melted

For the muffins

15 oz of pumpkin puree
1 cup sugar
1 tsp cinnamon
½ tsp salt
½ tsp ginger
½ tsp nutmeg
¼ tsp ground cloves
¼ cup butter, melted
2 large eggs
1 tsp vanilla
1 ½ cups flour
1 tsp baking powder
½ tsp baking soda

For the filling

8 oz cream cheese, at room temperature
1 egg yolk
5 tbsp sugar
¼ tsp vanilla

1)      Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

2)      Prepare the crust by crushing the ginger snaps and mixing in the sugar and butter

3)      Mash the crust in the bottom of cupcake liners, or line a muffin tin with greased parchment paper disks (cut to muffin cup size).

4)      Bake for 10 minutes and remove from the oven.

5)      Prepare the pumpkin mixture by mixing all the ingredients in a large bowl (pumpkin puree, sugar, cinnamon, spices, baking soda, baking powder, salt, eggs, and butter).

6)      In a separate bowl, use a hand-mixer on medium to mix the cream cheese, sugar, and vanilla until smooth and creamy.  Then, beat in the egg yolk.

7)      Pour the pumpkin mixture on top of the ginger-snap crust, approximately ¾ of the way to the top of the cooled muffin cups (if they are still hot, wait until the muffin tin is to room temperature).  If you did not use liners, be sure to thoroughly grease the sides of the muffin tin, or line them with greased parchment paper.

8)      Using a tablespoon, add a dollop of the cream cheese mixture to each muffin cup.  Use a toothpick or skewer to swirl the cream cheese mixture.

9)      Bake for 25 minutes.

 

4 Responses to “Law School Exam Muffins, or Humbly Grateful Muffins”

  1. bakingchicas Says:

    **drool**

    It was a pleasure taking care of you my dear. My only regret is that these muffins are in Portland and I am in Roseburg. Hope your exams are going well!

  2. Emily Says:

    I’m sorry you had so much technical trouble, but I love knowing that you have such wonderful people around you! I know law school’s tough and all, but you’re so intelligent, motivated, and hard-working that I can’t imagine you doing anything but well on your finals. Also, we’ve got some serious catching up to do once we’re both on break! <3

  3. Kelli Jones Says:

    Aweee. My heart was pounding as i was reading your little story, so glad everything worked out and wishing you well on your exams…You are quite the student and so bright…sounds like you and Josie have a wonderful friendship not to mention you have a large network of wonderful buddies in your journey to lawyer-hood!!!! Happy Holidays Missy

  4. Mommy Says:

    Oh my…I’m glad I missed the breakdown when you discovered that you left your binder with all your outlines and flow charts in Roseburg! Just kidding, I would have given you “mommy support”. Anyway– crisis over– see how everything works out in the end? :-)

Leave a Reply

