Smiling New Years Pumpkin Bread


Over the past few months I have had the pleasure of sharing so many good recipes with you.  I love talking and thinking about food.  And I love sharing that love with others.  But I have a secret you see… on this blog you only see my successes, the things I cook that make me go “yummmm” and antsy to share the recipe with others.  Like anyone who’s spent a decent amount of time experimenting in the kitchen however, I’ve had my fair share of failures.  I’ve burnt things.  I’ve had recipes end in disaster, and ultimately – I’m sad to say – in the garbage.

This loaf of pumpkin bread was nearly one of those disasters.  Bake 30-40 minutes the recipe said.  Long story short, after 40 minutes I took the loaf out, confident that it should be done, only to cut into a bread shell, filled with batter…  Back into the oven for fifteen minutes they went… still not done.  I think it cooked for about an hour total, but to be completely honest, I couldn’t tell you.

If you look carefully at the bread, you’ll see a smiling artifact – welcoming you to the New Year.  Despite the lack of clarity in terms of cook time, this pumpkin bread came out beautifully :)

 

Pumpkin Bread

  • 3 cups sugar
  • 1 cup vegetable oil
  • 4 eggs, lightly bean
  • 16 ounces canned unsweetened pumpkin
  • 3 1/2 cups flour
  • 2 teaspoons salt
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1 teaspoon allspice
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon cloves
  • 2/3 cup water

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Butter and flour 2 9 by 5 loaf pans.

Stir together sugar and oil. Stir in eggs and pumpkin.

Combine dry ingredients in separate bowl.

Blend dry ingredients and water into wet mixture, alternating.

Divide batter between two loaf pans.

Bake for well… probably about 50 minutes, but until the cake tester comes out clean. Let stand 10 minutes. Remove from pans and cool.

Leave a Reply

